Saimaa Canal Museum

The Saimaa Canal Museum is located in the Mälkiä-Mustola area along the canal, where structures and buildings from different eras can be seen. The exhibition illustrates the history of the Saimaa Canal and its different phases, and is located in the impressive former residence of the District Director of the Upper Canal District. The building, completed in 1845, features a historically valuable garden, with flowers and passages. The buildings include memorabilia from the history of the Canal.

Exhibition

The museum showcases the history of the Canal construction from the Pontus Canal in the 17th century to the present-day Saimaa Canal. The exhibits include a pantograph from 1844, which was used in the construction project of the Canal. The exhibits also include a video clip of the building of the present-day Saimaa Canal, from 1963–1968.
Canal officials and their residences are highlighted in their own section of the exhibition. The exhibition includes, such things as uniforms of the District Directors of the Pilot Service District and a furnished office of the District Director. Scale models of the canal’s locks are also on display.

Guided tours and gift shop

    Museum visits and tours can be booked throughout the year.
    The museum has a café and a museum gift shop.

Opening hours

12.6.–13.8.2017 from 11 am to 6 pm. Closed  23.–25.6.

Admission

adults 3 €, under 16 years old: free of charge, groups 2 €/person.

Contact

Sulkuvartijankatu 16
53300 Lappeenranta
Phone +358 50 300 6322